Skip to content

Most ADHD People Can Find Wholeness

June 23, 2012

My intent in writing this blog is to discuss the disability called Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)  which widely exists in our modern society, that largely goes unnoticed by the majority of people who don’t have it. It is not apparent how widespread ADD is in society, but it seems like it is spreading as the population expands. Hardly a time goes by when someone doesn’t tell me that they, one or more of their kids, their spouse, or a sibling has ADD.  The things that I write here are not so much about me, but about ways in which people who have been cursed by problems initiated by this disability can learn to live constructive lives. Instead of presenting the subject in the usual manner of writing about the daily mundane topics about medications or the various little tricks people can do to make their lives run more easily, I am looking at the “bigger picture” and saying that one of the contributing factors of ADD is the refusal of people in society to learn to make the most out of what they are given. We are all given very good brains that can perform miraculous feats, yet we are content with using, what amounts to, super mega computers to perform simple arithmetic. Some in society would claim I am looking for a utopian society or I am prying into other people’s lives trying to manipulate them. I am only making an observation and stating the obvious. In my own life, I have learned to “reprogram” how I use my brain to do more of the things I want to do, like read more effectively or communicate more clearly. These are approachable goals once we understand how our minds work. Regardless, I have received my share of criticisms about not accepting myself as I was before or wanting to reap “unrealistic” wishes to come true. Some have suggested it was based on negative views of myself for not accepting myself as I was before and wanting to change something about me. People are constantly changing their appearance, their behaviors, their physique, and the way they dress. I have had deficiencies in my communication skills when I was in my early 20s. I wanted to have more friends, but I couldn’t have more friends until I learn to communicate more effectively, where people could understand me better and want to spend more time talking with me. Why not work to improve this if I have the desire?

I have had a history of ADD-like symptoms and dyslexic-related symptoms. I had been tested for dyslexia when I was in the 5th grade. It was ruled out, but I can attest to much sluggishness in my reading abilities that hound me to this day. Perhaps, the reasons are all related to ADD, but what difference does it make now?  It is in the last 5 years that I am happy with the time I spend reading a book. I have read about 2 dozen books in the last couple of years. If I didn’t need to work, I would be spending a majority of my time reading. I still enjoy reading books made out of paper, with covers and paper pages in the middle. No Kindles or Nooks here, yet. After reading, the next source of frustration for me was (and still is) in the area of memory. There is the day-to-day forgetfulness comprising of dozens of activities throughout the day. Then there is the long-term forgetfulness of things I made efforts to learn, yet fade into nothingness. People tell me I am being too hard on myself when I complain that I forget things too much. People will tell me that they forget things all the time, but I’m still led to believe I do it much more, and with more frequency than others. Over time, I still believe things will get better about the way I mentally process information. I believe my memory will continue to get better.  Exactly how long it will take to get to that level of competence is hard to say. It could be another year or so.

I believe there are other dimensions to our minds most people are unaware of. Practices like meditation can help reveal these. Meditation can teach a person to directly focus upon their inner mind. Then when we want to introduce new ways of thinking, the ego’s urge to resist will be quieter. I believe people, even people with ADD, can bring subtle changes to the way they think, that can help pave the way to significant lasting changes in the future. The primary ingredient to this happening is for the person to believe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

